Recognition of previous achievement | Pearson qualifications

Recognition of previous achievement

A number of assessment processes allow achievement from a range of activities, using any valid assessment method, to be recognised.

Read more

These include Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL), Accreditation of Prior Learning (APL), Accreditation of Prior Experiential Learning (APEL) and Accreditation of Prior Achievement (APA).

Provided that the assessment requirements of a given unit or qualification have been met, these processes can be used to accredit part of a unit(s) or a qualification.

Any evidence submitted under these systems must be:

  • valid
  • authentic
  • current
  • relevant
  • sufficient.

Centres are expected to establish their own policy for recognition of previous achievement policy, in line with Pearson policy. For more information, please read our Recognition of Prior Learning Policy which you'll find in the Policies area.


User tabs

Are you sure you want to exit this session?