Delivering BTEC qualifications Acronyms

Find​ ​the​ ​most​ ​common​ ​BTEC​ ​vocational qualification​ ​acronyms​ ​and​ ​terms​ ​that​ ​are​ ​used​ ​when delivering​ ​BTEC​ ​qualifications.​ ​

Read more
  • ACS - Assignment Checking Service
  • AMR - Academic Management Review - Annual Centre visit for UK Alternative Providers
  • APMR - Annual Programme Monitoring Report (Higher Nationals)
  • CCE - Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment
  • CDM - Curriculum Development Manager
  • CED - Centre Engagement Document
  • CPD - Continued Professional Development
  • DTR - Desk Top Review
  • EE - External Examiner (Higher Nationals)
  • EOL - Edexcel Online
  • FE - Further Education
  • FHEQ - Framework for Higher Education Qualifications
  • GLH - Guided Learning Hours
  • IV - Internal Verifier
  • LIV - Lead Internal Verifier
  • Ofqual - Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation
  • PSM - Principal Standards Manager
  • NQF - National Qualification Framework
  • OIA - Office of the Independent Adjudicator (Higher Nationals)
  • QAA - The Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (Higher Nationals)
  • QCF - Qualification Credit Framework
  • QMR - Quality Management Review - Annual Centre visit or Desk Top Review on a 3 year cyo UK Further Education Colleges & Schools delivering BTEC qualifications
  • QN - Quality Nominee
  • RQF - Regulated Qualification Framework
  • SRF - Self Regulated Framework
  • SSV - Senior Standards Verifier
  • SV - Standards Verifier
  • TQT - Total Qualification Time
  • Academic​ ​Management​ ​Review​ ​(AMR)​: this is the annual centre quality visit for UK Alternative Providers.
  • Annual​ ​Programme​ ​Monitoring​ ​Report​ ​(APMR)​: the Annual Programme Monitoring Report is a written annual review form that provides an opportunity for providers to analyse and reflect on the most recent teaching year.
  • Assessment:​ the definitive assessment of the learner’s achievement and must be to national standards. This assessment contributes to achievement and informs a unit grade (where applicable).
  • Assessor:​ the person responsible for making decisions about whether learners’ work achieves the national standard required for certification.
  • External​ ​Examiner​ ​(EE):​ ​External Examiners are exactly the same as SV’s but for HN qualifications and usually visit the centre.
  • Framework​ ​for​ ​Higher​ ​Education​ ​Qualifications​ ​(FHEQ): This is the Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) Framework for Higher Education Qualifications.
  • Guided​ ​Learning​ ​Hours​ ​(GLH)​: Guided Learning Hours are a notional measure of the substance of a unit. It includes an estimate of time that might be allocated to direct teaching, instruction and assessment, together with other structured learning time such as directed assignments or supported individual study.
  • HN​ ​Global​:​ Global is an online resource that supports provider planning and delivery of Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals by providing appropriate teaching and learning resources.
  • Internal​ ​Verification​ ​(IV):​ This is a provider/team based process. The Internal Verifiers check the quality of assignments before delivery to students and verify the accuracy of assessment decisions to meet national standards. An appointed Lead Internal Verifier manages the process.
  • Joint​ ​Council​ ​for​ ​Qualifications​ ​(JCQ):​ ​The JCQ provides a single voice for its members on issues of examination administration and, when appropriate, qualification and wider education policy.
  • Learning​ ​aims/outcomes:​ what the learner should know, understand or be able to do as a result of completing the unit.
  • Office​ ​of​ ​Independent​ ​Adjudicator​ ​(OIA)​: The Office of Independent Adjudicator is an independent body that operates a higher education complaints scheme in England and Wales.
  • Quality​ ​Management​ ​Review​ ​(QMR):​ QMR is the annual centre quality visit for UK BTEC centres.
  • Quality​ ​Nominee​ ​(QN):​ This is the person nominated by your centre who acts as main contact for BTEC.
  • Resubmission:​ If requested, and at their discretion, the Lead Internal Verifier may authorise one resubmission of improved evidence by a learner, following assessment. Resubmissions must not provide a learner with an unfair advantage over others.
  • Standardisation:​ a method of comparison that enables centre assessors to review the consistency and accuracy of their assessment decisions with those of other assessors.
  • Total​ ​Qualification​ ​Time​ ​(TQT):​ The requirement for Awarding Bodies to describe the size of their qualifications by using Total Qualification Time as a descriptor. This provides an indication of how long a typical learner will take to study for a qualification.
User tabs

Are you sure you want to exit this session?