BTEC qualifications by level | Pearson qualifications
Understanding our qualifications

Comparing BTEC to other qualifications

We offer a range of qualifications and learning opportunities to help you progress and your professional skills at every stage of your academic life and career.  

Read more

Choosing your BTEC

The tables provide an overview of the range of BTECs available to learners at different levels and stages of their academic and professional career.  

Age 14-16

Your BTEC options Equivalent in standard to Level
BTEC Tech Awards GCSE grades A to E 1 to 2
BTEC Firsts GCSE Grades A* to C 2
MySkills   Entry to 3
BTEC Workskills   Entry to 3
BTEC IT Users (ITQ)   Entry to 3

Age 16 plus

Your BTEC options Equivalent in standard to Level
BTEC Level 1 Introductory   1
BTEC Level 2 Technicals   2
BTEC Nationals A levels 3
BTEC Higher Nationals 1st and 2nd yr undergraduate degree 4-5
BTEC Apprenticeships   2-3
BTEC Higher Apprenticeships   4-5
BTEC Foundation Diploma in Art and Design   3-4
BTEC Specialist   1-3
BTEC Professional   4-7
User tabs

Are you sure you want to exit this session?