July 2019 update: please note that the recent announcement from the DfE about pre-existing level 3 qualifications in England means we are currently making some changes to the information on this page.

Read about the DfE level 3 funding announcement here

Read more

The DfE are currently conducting a review of post-16 qualifications at level 3 and below in England. In the consultation published in March, the DFE indicated that they would withdraw approval for funding for the older versions of qualifications, considered to meet the criteria of "pre-existing qualifications".

Withdrawal of approval for funding for new starts would be from 1 August 2020. 

This could impact some QCF qualifications in England but not all. The DfE have indicated that the list of impacted qualifications will be published at the end of July 2019. 

This may affect funding for some Level 3 QCF qualifications from August 2020 in England.

We will communicate with centres as soon as we have further information. 

The removal of funding for some QCF qualifications is for England only. 

Registration date extended to 31 August 2020

We will be making a small extension to the registration dates for the BTEC Level 3 Nationals (QCF) suite for centres in England, Northern Ireland and internationally. This information will appear on Edexcel Online, and should show on the funding hub by the end of March 2019.

This means that you will be able to register new learners up to 31 August 2020. Meanwhile you will be able to top up existing BTEC National learners to bigger sizes of qualification in the suite up to 30 September 2020.

This extension is to align with the curriculum reform dates in England.

Many of the BTEC Nationals are included in SASE apprenticeship frameworks. Please note that the government has announced that you have until 31 July 2020 to register for new apprenticeship starts on live SASE apprenticeship frameworks. 

The Department for Education (DfE) have announced that they will be consulting on a review of post-16 qualifications at level 3 and below (excluding A levels and GCSEs). As they have said in the T Level Action Plan they intend to consult in two stages.

The first stage of the consultation will set out the principles, scope and broad process the review will follow. The second stage of the consultation will outline the proposed criteria that will be used to determine a qualification’s eligibility to continue to receive public funding.

This may affect the funding of existing level 3 qualifications from September 2020 in England. We will update you when we receive more information about this. 

Are there any exceptions?

Please note there a number of exceptions to the extension, including:

  • BTEC Nationals in Dental Technology - last registration date is already 31 August 2020 as required by the professional body.
  • BTEC Nationals in Children’s Care, Learning and Development (CCLD) - will be extended for last registration 31 August 2021 in Northern Ireland only. 

Here to help

Our Subject teams have created some short FAQs to explain what this means for funding, planning, teaching and learning.

We would strongly advise centres to top up before the last registration date, as it is not possible to get public funding for the top-up once that date has passed.

We will be reviewing the demand for qualifications at a sector level, and taking account of:

  • the DfE Level 3 review of the public funding of qualifications
  • whether there is suitable reformed provision available in that sector
  • whether it is part of one of the new Trailblazer apprenticeships
  • the level of demand in England, Wales, NI and international countries. 

We will update the content, where appropriate, for any sectors that we extend beyond September 2020.

At the moment, the last date that you will be able to top up learners is 30 September 2020. This is subject to the DfE Level 3 review as outlined above. 

No, as these qualifications do not contain external assessment.

16-19 year olds
These qualifications will continue to be funded up to the registration end date. This means that:

  • New learners should be registered before 31 August 2020 and will be funded for the duration of their qualification.
  • Existing learners should be topped up before 30 September 2020 and will be funded to complete the larger qualification. 

19-23 year olds

  • Some titles are eligible for 19-23 entitlement funding in 2018/19.
  • 19-23 entitlement funding has yet to be confirmed for 2019/20. We expect details to be announced in spring 2019. 

Please note that the outcomes of the forthcoming DfE review of level 3 and below qualifications for post-16 learners may affect which existing qualifications are funded in the future. We will keep you updated with any relevant information, or changes.

Yes, this has not changed. Details can be viewed on the UCAS website.