The T Level Foundation Year is a 16-19 study programme specifically designed to develop the skills, experience, knowledge and behaviours to support progression onto a  T Level.

It is a one-year programme aimed at young people who are not ready to start a T Level but have the potential to progress onto one.

Read more

Your T Level Foundation Year - the detail

The T Level Foundation Year consists of five components that should be tailored to the needs of the individual student. It must be delivered within the existing study programme funding rules with a minimum of 540 planned hours to allow sufficient time to deliver the five components.

Pearson provide several qualification suites funded for 16–19-year-olds that meet the requirements for these components, giving you confidence that your students can gain the skills, experience, knowledge and behaviours needed for progression whilst gaining a recognised qualification that is regulated by Ofqual.

View the T Level Foundation Year framework

Your 5 T Level Foundation Year components

1 Diagnostic and guidance period

To assess capability and support needs to tailor your students’ individual Foundation Year and help them decide which T Level route they wish to prepare for. 

2 English and maths

Students who did not achieve English and/or maths GCSE grade 4 at Key Stage 4 are required to continue studying as per the condition of funding. Pearson offer: 

  • GCSE English and maths
  • Entry, L1 and L2 Functional Skills in English and maths
  • Entry, L1 and L2 English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

Find out more

3 Work preparation and employability skills

To develop the skills, behaviours, attitude, and confidence that will be needed for students to complete the T Level Industry Placement. This should include high quality work experience, and work preparation and employability skills development.  Pearson offer:  

  • Entry, L1 and L2 BTEC WorkSkills suite
  • Entry and L1 Essential Digital Skills

Find out more

4 Introductory technical skills

The introduction of skills and concepts to prepare students for the T Level route they wish to progress to.  

Pearson offer a wide range of Post 16 Level 2 BTEC qualifications designed to develop technical knowledge and skills, with the aim of progression into further study or an apprenticeship.  

Find out more

5 Pastoral support and personal development

Relevant and meaningful support to address barriers to education, support emotional and/or mental health difficulties, and support the development of study skills, and reflective and resilience skills.

Pearson offer a suite of Entry, L1 and L2 BTEC Personal Growth and Wellbeing qualifications.

Find out more