BTEC First in I&CT included in 2017 headline performance measures | Pearson qualifications

BTEC First in ICT included in 2017 headline performance measures

4 August 2015

We are delighted to announce that the BTEC First Award in Information and Creative Technology is now included on the list of qualifications that will count toward Key Stage 4 headline performance measures in England for 2017. 

Read more

This is after recent discussions with the Department for Education, and having made some changes to the specification.

This means that you can continue to teach the BTEC First Award in I&CT, confident that your learners’ achievements will be recognised in performance measures in 2017.

Learn more about Key Stage 4 technical awards on DfE website

Changes to the specification

To remove the overlap with GCSE Computing, the following units will not be included in the First Award (from awarding in summer 2017), although they will still be available in the larger sizes:

  • Unit 2: Technology Systems
  • Unit 8: Mobile Apps Development
  • Unit 12: Software Development
  • Unit 11: Computer Networks

What this means for you

If you have learners already registered on the First Award who will be completing in 2016, then:

  • these units will still count towards completion of the qualification
  • your results will be eligible for key stage 4 headline measures in 2016.

If you were planning to teach these units to new starters in 2015/16, you can also discuss your options with our ICT Subject Advisor Tim Brady and his team.

If you have previously taught these units as part of a First Award, we will contact you directly.

{{ gatDoctitle }}


Are you sure you want to exit this session?