Apprenticeship Standards Learning Mentor (L3)

{{specBanner.title}} {{specBanner.summary}} {{specBanner.cta}}

This Level 3 apprenticeship standard is designed as a minimum 12 month programme and is for apprentices who wish to gain the skills, knowledge and behavioural competences required to work in a Learning Mentor role.

Read more

Mentoring is, and has been for centuries, the foundation of vocational training and apprenticeships, yet this standard is the first formal recognition of this role.  Nowadays, mentoring takes place in all parts of the Education and Training Sector (ETS) and staff development contexts. Learning Mentors (LMs) support learners of all ages, and all levels, to develop within a new work role. These learners may be, for example, apprentices, trainees or new recruits (ranging from young entrants, to new CEOs) in the workplace, or in any vocational learning environment. 

Learning Mentors will have sector-specific experience and qualifications, as determined by their employer or professional body, which they use to guide and advise those who are less experienced and new to a work role. The Learning Mentor is therefore a ‘dual professional’ having both up-to-date knowledge and skills in a specialist vocational or subject area, together with the generic skills necessary to support learners (as potentially a first step towards a secondary role as an education and training professional). 

{{ gatDoctitle }}




We provide a clear learning programme to take apprentices from entry through to the gateway for end-point assessment.

You can use our on-programme offer regardless of whether you are using Pearson as your end-point assessment organisation or not.


Individual employers may set entry requirements which may include:

  • A strong aspiration to support learners
  • (As a dual-professional) a qualification, at an appropriate level in the candidate’s vocational/subject specialism
  • Recent experience and knowledge relevant to the context of the mentoring role (e.g. current industry standards).

Candidates may have achieved maths, English and ICT skills at Level 2 (equivalent to GCSE Grade C or above) prior to commencing their training. Those that have not must achieve this prior to taking the end-point assessment.

There is a mandatory qualification for this apprenticeship standard - Level 1 Safeguarding

Pearson offer:

Pearson BTEC Level 2 Award in Principles of Safeguarding in a Learning Environment

Employers may also wish candidates to achieve appropriate additional qualifications in Education and Training including mentorship 

As both a vocational and academic awarding organisation, we can offer a wide range of English and maths qualifications in line with your standards’ requirements from Functional Skills through to GCSEs.


English and maths resources
We have a wide range of resources and useful tools to complement your programme, including assessment tools, podcasts and training events.

Find out more

End-point assessment

End-point assessment

As an ESFA-approved Assessment Organisation, we provide a full range of assessment services, resources and support from our experienced EPA team to equip you and your learners with the diverse requirements of the apprenticeship standards.

You can use Pearson as your end-point assessment organisation, regardless of whether you choose to use our on-programme offer or not.

There are two components that make up end-point assessment for Learning Mentor apprenticeship:

  1. Observations followed by questions and answers - This includes two Learning Mentor sessions with a minimum of two different learners, totalling 120 minutes, with a potential variance of 10% depending on the needs of the learners being mentored by the Learning Mentor Apprentice.
  2. Professional Discussion (PD) informed by the 'Showcase' - The PD, will take place in a confidential environment with no interruptions. During the PD the Independent Assessor will clarify and validate the apprentice's claim to meeting the Learning Mentor Standard through ongoing practice, illustrated in the exemplary examples provided in the Showcase, mapped or cross-referenced to the Knowledge, Skills and Behaviours listed in the Thematic/Synoptic areas of the Assessment Plan.

{{ gatDoctitle }}


Our range of EPA resources such as EPA specification, additional resources document and practice knowledge test are designed to enhance learners’ knowledge and/or hone essential skills required.

They are available to our customers who have signed up to Pearson EPA and include information on:

  • Structure
  • Grading
  • Gateway requirements
  • Assessment content
  • Evidence requirement for each component

We have designed a step-by-step guide, with signposts to our key supporting information, resources and services available at every stage of the process.

End-point assessment - Childcare and Education

{{ image.gatingTitle }}



Are you sure you want to exit this session?