Pearson has created guidance to support pre-16 learners transferring from Functional Skills ICT to BTEC Workskills where they can take funded units to continue developing their ICT skills. 

Read more

The withdrawal of Functional Skills ICT at all levels means there is a space for an ICT based qualification for pre-16 learners. Functional Skills ICT will be replaced by Digital Functional Skills, but these qualifications will not be funded for pre-16 learners.

IMPORTANT: Functional Skills ICT is being replaced by a new qualification called Digital Functional Skills (which is only funded post-16). The last registration date for Functional Skills ICT is the 31st August 2023 and the final external assessment and Standards Verification visit date is the 14th June 2024. The final certification date is the 31st August 2024. 

What is BTEC WorkSkills? 

WorkSkills are BTEC qualifications that are designed to develop learners' employability skills. These qualifications can either be delivered as a core programme or can be delivered as an enhancement to other programmes. 

Supporting ICT learners 

Pearson has mapped units from Entry 3, Level 1 and Level 2 WorkSkills that give learners the opportunity to develop and receive credit for their ICT Skills. You have the choice of offering one unit for a Subsidiary Award (35GLH) or two units for an Award (70GLH) 

Useful Documents

{{ gatDoctitle }}