Employability programmes | Pearson qualifications

Employability and skills qualifications

Our Employability and Skills qualifications are designed for learners of all ages. An individual’s skills are central to success in life and work. Pearson identifies five distinct learning areas for skills development on which our provision is based: Industry Knowledge; English and Maths; Skills for Work; Work Experience and Social and Personal Skills.

We offer a range of courses that are designed to help learners to develop these skills, aimed at helping learners to progress either onto a higher level course or onto an apprenticeship/work. Our best known qualifications include Functional Skills, Workskills and BTEC Introductory.

Read more

Select a qualification

BTEC Entry and Level 1

Qualifications designed to help students take their first steps in vocational learning.

Learn more

BTEC Entry 3 to Vocational Study

Take a fresh approach to teaching Entry 3 learners with our new graded qualifications.

Learn more


A qualification for recognising achievement in IT user skills that can be studied alone or alongside other qualifications.

Learn more

BTEC Level 1 Introductory

Explore our new graded qualifications designed to offer your below Level 2 learners the practical skills.

Learn more

BTEC Workskills

BTEC qualifications that can be slotted in and around other courses to accredit skills already being taught and further boost students’ CVs.

Learn more


Skills for Life qualifications designed for learners living in the UK whose first language is not English.

Learn more

Essential Skills Wales

The only basic skills qualifications offered in Wales can be taught stand-alone or as a component of other qualifications, including Apprenticeships.

Learn more

Functional Skills

English, mathematics and ICT qualifications that equip learners with the practical skills for life, learning and work.

Learn more

My Skills

Practical qualifications designed to give learners the essential skills they need for adult life, from driving to cooking.

Learn more

Personal Social Development

Qualifications designed to develop learners’ skills in areas such as reading and writing, maths and independent living.

Learn more

Skilled for Life

An employability toolkit with everything you need to give learners the skills and knowledge to prepare for work.

Learn more


Designed to enable 16- to 24-year-olds to progress rapidly to employment or an apprenticeship.

Learn more

{{ gatDoctitle }}


Are you sure you want to exit this session?