About Leadership Skills (STEM)

Find out more about Leadership Skills (STEM) qualifications, why you should take them and how the course is structured.  

Read more
Sheffield Hallam University logo

{{ image.gatingTitle }}

Specialist Schools and Academies Trust logo

{{ image.gatingTitle }}

slq logo

{{ image.gatingTitle }}


What are Leadership Skills (STEM) qualifications?

We’ve been working with the Centre for Science Education at Sheffield Hallam University for several years to develop first class leadership qualifications.

Our Level 1 and Level 2 BTEC Certificates in Leadership Skills are designed to support the development of leadership skills within schools and colleges, and to allow the integration of science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) skills into the WorkSkills suite of BTEC qualifications. They can be taught as separate qualifications or within the teaching and learning of traditional STEM subjects.

The course develops and challenges learners’ leadership abilities through practical, self-driven activities, developing their collaborative and thinking skills in a chosen context, such as STEM, and enhancing their self-awareness and self-belief.

Why take Leadership Skills (STEM) qualifications?

Schools and colleges delivering our STEM Leadership qualifications report that students value the learning of personal, leadership and employability skills in a scientific, technological, engineering or mathematics environment.

Our Level 1 and Level 2 BTEC Certificates in Leadership Skills have been proven to:

  • increase motivation to learn STEM subjects
  • improve the chances of learners applying these skills in the workplace
  • raise the expectations and aspirations of learners 
  • give added value to their work in STEM subjects.

How is the course structured?

Our BTEC Certificate in Leadership Skills is a 13-credit qualification at either Level 1 or Level 2. Learners must take five mandatory units available at both levels to make 10 credits (each unit is worth 2 credits) to establish key leadership skills. They can then complete the Certificate by choosing 3 credits from the WorkSkills suite. Learners who don’t complete the full Certificate can still receive a general WorkSkills Award (3 credits).

The mandatory leadership units are:

  • Developing Personal Skills for Leadership (2 credits)
  • Practising Leadership Skills with Others (2 credits)
  • Learning with Colleagues and Other Learners (2 credits)
  • Learning from More Experienced People (2 credits)
  • Communicating Solutions to Others (2 credits). 

The development of these units has been supported by the Comino Foundation.

Comino Foundation logo

We are currently piloting Level 3 WorkSkills units to develop a Level 3 Award in Leadership.