New optional units in Care Services | Pearson qualifications

New optional units in Care Services

4 March 2019

Following the launch of the new Diploma in Care qualifications last year, we have listened to your feedback regarding the optional units included within the BTEC Level 2 Diploma in Care (England) [QAN : 603/2762/5] and the BTEC Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care (England) [QAN 603/2764/9]

Read more

As a result of this feedback we are now introducing further optional units at level 2 and 3 into both qualifications from March 2019. The introduction of these units will offer a greater breadth of learning across the wider roles of learners, giving more flexibility to meet the individual needs of specialisms within the sector.

The rules of combination for both qualifications remains the same, learners have to choose optional units from two groups: context or specialist knowledge units (Group B1) and competence units (Group B2). Centres must deliver appropriate combinations of specialist units across the two optional groups to meet the needs and work context of individual learners.

Please refer to Issue 2 of the revised specifications to view the additional units. Subject areas include:

  • Dementia
  • End of life care
  • Substance, drug and alcohol misuse
  • Active support and care planning

The optional units will be available as single PDF documents to download, alongside the existing offer.

If you require any further information please contact us.

{{ gatDoctitle }}


Are you sure you want to exit this session?