Your new BTEC Tech Awards (2017) | Pearson qualifications

Your new BTEC Tech Awards (2017)

Tue Nov 08 00:00:00 UTC 2016

In 2017, the DfE is introducing Technical Awards at Key Stage 4 for schools in England. This has given us the opportunity to develop a suite of brand-new level 1 and level 2 vocational qualifications: BTEC Tech Awards.

Read more

What is a BTEC Tech Award?

The skills to succeed – the confidence to progress

BTEC Tech Awards are skills-based Key Stage 4 qualifications, designed to be studied alongside GCSEs. With these courses your students can:

  • explore a sector
  • develop industry-specific knowledge and skills
  • apply these to real-world scenarios through skills-based assignments.

The transferable skills developed will give your students the confidence to prepare them for their futures, whether in further education or employment.

Which subjects will be available for teaching?

First teaching from September 2017 First teaching from September 2018*

Art and Design*

Child Development

Digital Media Production*





Land-based Studies

Health and Social Care

Protective Services


Travel and Tourism



Performing Arts


Sports Leadership




* Provisional titles

Want to know more?

BTEC Tech Awards are designed to meet the DfE’s guidance for Key Stage 4 performance measures in England, to count in the ‘Open Group’ (non-EBacc category) of Progress 8 (the DfE will confirm this in late 2017).

Sign up to receive the latest news about the courses, launch events, videos and specifications.

Sign up for the latest BTEC Tech Award updates


Are you sure you want to exit this session?