Languages | Pearson qualifications


Qualification news | 22 April 2016

New language qualifications for 201718

We've been working with Ofqual and the DfE to secure the future of some A level and GCSE language qualifications. 

Read more

We're pleased to announce that we will be developing:

  • Edexcel GCSE and A level qualifications in Italian, Russian and Chinese, and GCSEs in Arabic, Modern Greek, Japanese and Urdu for first teaching in 2017.
  • Edexcel GCSE qualifications in Gujarati, Turkish, Portuguese and Biblical Hebrew for first teaching in 2018. 
  • Edexcel A level qualifications in Arabic, Modern Greek, Japanese, Urdu, Gujarati, Turkish and Portuguese for first teaching in 2018.

Rod Bristow, President of Pearson in the UK, said:

"We believe that awarding organisations, government and schools should all work together in the interests of the students who want to have access to these qualifications, which are of great importance to communities across the UK and abroad.

"Pearson is working closely with Ofqual and the DfE to secure the future of a range of GCSE and A level language qualifications, subject to finalising the subject content required. Those include A levels we currently offer in Arabic, Modern Greek, Japanese and Urdu. We are also now working to secure the future of A level and GCSE qualifications in Gujarati, Portuguese, Turkish and GCSE Biblical Hebrew, which are being withdrawn by another exam board.”

Existing GCSEs and A levels in Italian, Russian, Chinese, Arabic, Modern Greek, Japanese and Urdu will continue to be offered until the new qualifications are launched.

We look forward to working with centres wishing to offer these qualifications as we develop our new specifications. More information will be available on our website soon. 


Are you sure you want to exit this session?