Standards for Healthcare Science Assistant approved by BIS

Wed Feb 17 18:00:00 UTC 2016

Standards for Healthcare Science Assistant have been approved by The Department for Business, Innovation & Skills (BIS). The Assessment Plan has been submitted to BIS for approval. 

Read more

The standards cover job roles within the following areas:

  • Life Sciences – Pathology Investigations of Disease and Disorder
  • Physiological Sciences – Clinical Investigation of Human Functions and Systems
  • Physical Sciences – Medical Physics and Clinical Biomedical Engineering.

Pearson is working with the Trailblazer Group and a number of employers to develop the qualification that will assess the standards part of the Apprenticeship.

The qualification will be called Pearson BTEC Level 2 Diploma in Healthcare Science, and includes units covering the knowledge, skills and behaviours to work as a Healthcare Science Assistant in any of the three areas above.

Pearson currently offers the Pearson BTEC Level 2 Certificate in Introduction to Healthcare Science.

The Certificate consists of five mandatory units. These five units will make up the mandatory group in the new Diploma. Therefore the Certificate can be used as a stepping stone onto the Diploma.

The Level 2 Diploma in Healthcare Science is due to go operationally live on 1 September 2016.


Are you sure you want to exit this session?