November 2014 update

20 November 2014

This month's update features new and extended qualifications, new rules for adult learner funding and the latest Trailblazer news. 

Read more


We've extended the following childcare qualifications to 31 December 2016.

  • Level 2 Certificate for the Children and Young People’s Workforce (England)
  • Level 2 Diploma for Children’s Care, Learning and Development (Wales/NI)
  • Level 2 Diploma for Children’s Care, Learning and Development (Wales/NI).

Awarding organisations have been reviewing the childcare units over the last year or so, and although some units have been deemed non-compliant with the requirements of the QCF, we have agreed with the SSC and Ofqual that we can continue to offer them, provided we address any issues that arise from non-compliance. Changes will be addressed through centre guidance and will be added to the frequently asked questions.

With the integration of Pearson and EDI, we are in the process of adding additional units to the Pearson Edexcel Level 2 Certificate for the Children and Young People's Workforce.

You can use our qualification comparison tool to check which units will be added.

If the Pearson qualification already offers tested units, then these will remain. If EDI offered tested units which aren't offered as tested units in the Pearson qualification, these will be replaced by a portfolio of evidence and will not be transferred to the Pearson qualification.

Adult learner funding

The Skills Funding Agency has introduced new rules for public funding of qualifications. As a result, many qualifications are no longer eligible for funding for learners aged 19+ when taken outside of apprenticeship frameworks. We are seeking support from providers and employers to restore adult learner funding for individual qualifications.

Residential childcare

We are in the process of developing 2 new residential childcare qualifications. They are:

Pearson BTEC Level 3 Diploma for Residential Childcare (England)

  • 23 units (16 mandatory and 7 optional)
  • Covering areas such as child development, safeguarding, communication, assessment and planning, professional development, leaving care, working with families
  • Total credits 61
  • Age 18+

Pearson BTEC Level 5 in Leadership and Management for Residential Childcare (England)

  • 23 units (15 mandatory and 8 optional)
  • Covering areas such as leading, managing and implementing child development, safeguarding, multi-agency working, transition, complex disabilities
  • Total credits 65
  • Age 19+

These qualifications will be available from 1 January 2015. They will replace pathways in the current Level 3 Diploma for the Children and Young People's Workforce (Social Care pathway) and the Level 5 Diploma for Health and Social Care and Children and Young People’s Services (Residential Childcare).

However, last week we had confirmation from the DfE and SSC that we can extend the Level 3 Children and Young People's Workforce qualification until 30 June 2015. This will run alongside the Level 3 Diploma for Residential Childcare and both qualifications will be automatically funded. Employers and providers will need to ensure that their learners are registered on the correct qualification for their job roles.

The new residential childcare qualifications will be added to the current SASE framework as an interim measure until the new Trailblazer Standards are available.

Early Years Educator resource

The new Early Years Educator qualification was launched on 1 September 2014. This replaced the Early and Childcare pathway in the Level 3 Children and Young People's Workforce qualification. 

We've developed a learner textbook which covers all of the mandatory units along with selected optional units. It's packed with useful features and case studies to encourage reflective practice and provides a real-world focus.  It will be available in December 2014. Find out more and view a free sample chapter


We are currently engaging with Trailblazers in the early years sector. We will engage with the residential childcare Trailblazer in Phase 3 and we are awaiting the outcome on this. 

Early Years Educator

Early Years Educator is in Phase 2 of the Trailblazer. The Trailblazer Leadership Group is working with awarding organisationss and training providers on the assessment and grading of the apprenticeship standards. This apprenticeship will be available in 2015, exact date to be confirmed. It is likely to include the following:

  • EYE qualification
  • English and maths GCSE at grade A*-C
  • Paediatric First Aid
  • Food Safety
  • IT for Early Years.

They have also submitted other apprenticeships to BIS for approval in Phase 3, which are:

  • Assistant Early Years Practitioner
  • Early Years Centre Leader
  • Senior Early Years Practitioner.

Are you sure you want to exit this session?