BTEC First Award in Construction and the Built Environment - 2018 | Pearson qualifications

BTEC First in Construction the Built Environment - 2018 specification

In this subject update, you will be able to access all resources available for the 2018 version of the specification. 

Read more

BTEC First Award in Construction and the Built Environment - 2018 

BTEC First Award in Construction and the Built Environment 2018, is on KS4 performance measures. The qualification is 120 GLH.

Most of the specification is the same as the legacy version from 2013. 

How is the qualification structured?

Learners have to complete 4 units, 3 of which are mandatory and 1 is external. Each unit is 30 GLH. See below:

Unit 1: Construction technology (externally assessed with a written paper)

Unit 2: Scientific and Mathematical Applications for Construction (internally assessed)

Unit 3: Construction and Design (Synoptic)

Unit 4: Construction Drawing Techniques

Unit 5: Exploring Carpentry and Joinery Principles and Techniques

Unit 6: Exploring Brickwork and Blockwork Principles and Techniques

Unit 7: Exploring Painting and Decorating Principles and Techniques

Unit 8: Exploring Plumbing Principles and Techniques

Unit 9: Exploring Electrical Principles and Techniques


Teaching & learning and assessment materials

In addition to the course specification, which includes teaching content, assessment criteria and assessment information for each unit, there are other materials to help you deliver this qualification. These are:

  • Sample assessment materials.
  • Past papers
  • Authorised assignment briefs
  • Sample marked learner work
  • Published resources and more. 

Course materials

From the tabs below, you will be able to access materials relatiing to the externally assessed unit 1, and internally assessed units. 

{{ gatDoctitle }}


{{ gatDoctitle }}


To access all other materials, please visit the course materials section of the qualificaiton page. See link below.

Most of the resources in this section will be from the 2013 version. These would still be useful as most of the qualification stays the same. The main changes are;

  • Unit numbers are different, but names are the same. 
  • Construction and Design unit is now unit 3 and has additional content. 
  • Unit 1 exam has more questions and is 15 min longer. 

You can access the 2013 version of the specification in the link below:

BTEC First Award in Construction and the Built Environment 2013 Specification

Published resources 

There is student book available for BTEC First in Construction and the Built Environment.

View the student book


Are you sure you want to exit this session?