WorkSkills transition | Pearson qualifications

BTEC WorkSkills transition

Tue Aug 23 23:00:00 UTC 2016

To ensure that you can claim the correct amount of funding needed for delivery, we have extended the 2011 BTEC WorkSkills qualifications which were due to be retired from 1 September 2016. 

Read more

We have identified an issue with the new version of WorkSkills that is due for first teaching 1 September 2016 that affects Skills Funding Agency (SFA) funded 19+ learners in England. We are required by Ofqual to develop qualifications slightly differently to before, and this change has led to a cut in the funding available due to the new way that Guided Learning Hours (GLH) is determined.

As a result of this, we have extended the existing QCF qualifications for an initial transition period of four months while we rectify the issue. The extension will be processed in both England and Wales and across all age groups that for which the qualifications are currently approved. During this time, the 2011 version of BTEC Workskills will be available and open for registrations.

The new operational end date of the qualifications below will be 31 December 2016 instead of 30 September 2016 as previously stated. The certification end dates have also been amended to 31 December 2018 to allow plenty of time for learners to complete. Please note that this applies only to qualifications between Entry 3 and Level 2, and not Level 3:

Pearson BTEC Entry Level Award in Workskills (Entry 3) (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Entry Level 6-credit Award in Workskills (Entry 3) (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Entry Level 9-credit Award in Workskills (Entry 3) (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Entry Level Certificate in Workskills (Entry 3) (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 1 Award in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 1 6-credit Award in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 1 9-credit Award in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 1 Certificate in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 1 Extended Certificate in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 1 Diploma in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 2 Award in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 2 6-credit Award in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 2 9-credit Award in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 2 Certificate in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 2 Extended Certificate in Workskills (QCF)


Pearson BTEC Level 2 Diploma in Workskills (QCF)


We have discussed the situation with the Skills Funding Agency and the dates on the Funding Hub will be updated during September. 

We apologise for any inconvenience we have caused to customers who were looking forward to delivering the new versions of the qualifications to 19+ learners.  However, once we identified this issue we immediately moved to secure continuity of provision.  We will let you know once this is rectified.


{{ gatDoctitle }}


Are you sure you want to exit this session?