Pearson BTEC International Level 3 - NARIC benchmarked | Pearson qualifications

Pearson BTEC International Level 3 - NARIC benchmarked

16 January 2020

The new Pearson BTEC International Level 3 qualifications are benchmarked by NARIC. Below you will find out what it means for you, your centre and your learners.

Read more

What is NARIC?

UK NARIC is the designated United Kingdom national agency for the recognition and comparison of international qualifications and skills. It performs this official function on behalf of the UK Government. 

How do they benchmark qualifications?

NARIC compare international qualifications from 200 countries, former states or territories with the equivalent levels of UK qualifications.

Benchmarking involves comparing and analysing the level of one qualification against another identified qualification, standard or framework level in order to determine its academic standing.

How have they benchmarked our Pearson BTEC International level 3 qualifications?

In November 2019, UK NARIC completed an independent benchmarking study to compare the International BTECs to the RQF aligned Pearson BTEC Nationals.

In their study they have identified that:

  • Both the International BTEC and BTEC Nationals (RQF) identified a similar breadth and depth of topics covered within the units. Some differences were noted in the units set as mandatory or optional, but all BTEC Nationals (RQF) mandatory units were available as either a mandatory or optional unit in the International BTEC.
  • Differences in topic coverage reflected the International BTECs being adapted for international delivery with greater emphasis on the global context and fewer topics being UK focussed.
  • The Pearson BTEC International and BTEC Nationals (RQF) units employ internal assessment, where assignments are set and marked by individual centres according to general guidelines, learning aims and criteria set by Pearson.
  • Quality assurance and control mechanisms and processes were also considered for the purposes of UK NARIC determining comparability.

What does this mean for us?

This report is a confirmation from an independent body that the new Pearson BTEC International Level 3 suite is equivalent to BTEC Nationals (RQF) qualifications in terms of the aspects identified. It is an important element of recognition and will enable us to secure further international and national recognition of the Pearson BTEC International Level 3 qualifications.

{{ gatDoctitle }}


Are you sure you want to exit this session?