BTEC HND receives Higher Technical Qualification quality mark | Pearson qualifications

BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing receives Higher Technical Qualification status in England

30 June 2021

We’re very happy to announce that the Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing is the first Pearson qualification to be approved under a new process led by the Institute for Apprenticeships & Technical Education (IfATE).

Read more

This new approval system, based on employer-led standards, was created after the Department for Education’s response to Reforming Higher Technical Education – July 2020 emphasised the need for prestigious qualifications that meet employer needs (at levels 4 and 5).

Pearson have long invested in this space, and we agree that there is a need and opportunity for more young people and adults to be undertaking HTE in future, which is why we are committed to making sure our BTEC Higher National qualifications are a high-value choice for individuals.

Jane Baker, Vice President Higher Education Qualifications, Pearson said:

“At Pearson we have long understood the need for high quality vocational and technical higher education and our BTEC Higher National qualifications have led the way both in the UK and internationally for many years."
“Our BTEC Higher Nationals in Computing were developed in partnership with a wide range of stakeholders including employers, professional bodies and vendors."
“These higher technical qualifications will help develop students into professional, skilled individuals able to meet the demands of employers in the computing sector and the current and constantly evolving needs of the UK and international digital industries.”

Ryan Little, Education to Workforce Technical Program Manager, Amazon Web Services (AWS) said:

“It was fantastic to be part of the review of the Higher National Diploma in Computing and the submission to IfATE. The BTEC Higher Nationals and their alignment to the recognised Occupational Standards are of real value for current and future workforce needs and we're happy to be able to work with Pearson on it.”

The Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing will be available to teach from September 2022.

It comprises of:

  • Level 4 Higher National Certificate which provides a thorough grounding in computing principles that lead the student to a range of specialist progression pathways at;
  • Level 5 Higher National Diploma which relates to professions within the computing sector.

If you have any questions, email


Are you sure you want to exit this session?