2015 headline measures | Pearson qualifications

2015 headline measures announcement

21 November 2012

The DfE has published the list of non-GCSE qualifications that will be recognised in headline measures in the 2015 performance tables for Key Stage 4. 

Read more

We’re delighted to announce that the list, published on 20 November 2012, includes all the accredited next generation BTEC First Level 1/ Level 2 qualifications we submitted for review by the Department for Education; and at level 1, over half the qualifications included are BTECs.

Through this process, BTEC has been endorsed as synonymous with high quality vocational education as defined by Alison Wolf, with over five times more qualifications on the list than any other awarding organisation. This means that you can continue to deliver a broad and balanced curriculum for your Key Stage 4 learners going forward.

We have qualifications on the list in the following sectors:

  • Applied Science
  • Art and Design
  • Business
  • Childcare
  • Construction and the Built Environment
  • Creative Media
  • Engineering
  • Health and Social Care
  • Information Technology
  • Music
  • Performing Arts
  • Sport
  • Travel and tourism.

We’ll be in touch with Heads of Department shortly to offer further sector-specific information.

For a full list of the qualifications included on the list, see the accountability measures page. To help you digest this information, we’ve provided a summary, by subject, of the accreditation and headline measures status of current and next generation BTEC First qualifications for level 2 learners in 2013, 2014 and 2015 performance tables.


Are you sure you want to exit this session?