DfE reveals timescale for GCSE and A level specification redevelopment

15 April 2014

The Department for Education (DfE) has announced the GCSE and A level subjects that will be redeveloped for first teaching from September 2016.

Read more

On 9 April, Education Secretary Michael Gove said:

'I can announce today that GCSEs and A levels in religious studies, design & technology, drama, dance, music and PE - and GCSEs in art & design, computer science and citizenship - will also be reformed and brought up to these new, higher standards for first teaching at the same time, in September 2016.'

Subject content for GCSEs and A levels in remaining subjects will be developed for first teaching from 2017, through the new regulatory framework that Ofqual will be consulting on.

We'll continue to work with a wide range of stakeholders, subject groups and teachers to investigate what core content should be included in these subjects, ahead of redevelopment.

Read the full Department for Education announcement.


Are you sure you want to exit this session?