BTEC Firsts Health and Social Care (2012) | Pearson qualifications

BTEC Firsts Health and Social Care (2012)

{{specBanner.title}} {{specBanner.summary}} {{specBanner.cta}}

BTEC Firsts from 1 September 2018: more flexibility and choice

Qualification news |

In response to feedback from teaching professionals, we’re making some improvements to your BTEC First qualifications from the 2018/19 academic year.

From 1 September 2018, for your post-16 learners taking the larger sizes of the BTEC Firsts you’ll see:

  • More flexibility in the core units
    Your learners no longer have to aggregate a Pass across all the Core units to pass the whole qualification in the Certificate, Extended Certificate and Diploma sizes.
  • Greater choice of optional units
    We’ve taken a selection of the optional units from the Diploma (the largest size) and we’re making them available in smaller sizes (Certificate and Extended Certificate) from 1 September 2018.

  • Registrations extended up to 31 December 2024
    To give teaching professionals stability and time to plan, you can now continue registering new learners on the improved BTEC Firsts up to December 2024.

If your post-16 learners need to certificate on the Award size then they will either need to aggregate a pass across the Award Core units, or from September 2019, for these four First Awards only: Business, Construction and the Built Environment, Sport and Travel and Tourism they will need to have taken the 2018 revised versions of these BTEC First Awards.

Get the full story on the BTEC Firsts website


Are you sure you want to exit this session?