Structure and assessment

The BTEC First Award in Engineering Design and Product Investigation is one of three specialist engineering qualifications we've developed in partnership with the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Read more

Structure of the qualification

Two core units and one mandatory unit provide the fundamental knowledge and understanding of the engineering sector. 

Unit Core units Assessment method GLH
2 Investigating an Engineered Product Internal 30
9 Interpreting and Using Engineered Information External 30
12 Engineering Design (mandatory) Internal 60


Built on the rigorous assessment standards expected of BTEC qualifications, the new qualification includes an externally assessed unit, Unit 9: Interpreting and Using Engineering Information.

We've designed the external assessment to be appropriate for the sector, reflecting the skills and aptitudes required. The external assessment takes the form of a one-hour paper-based exam consisting of short- and long-answer questions, with an opportunity for extended writing within the exam.

Unit overview

Unit 2: Investigating an Engineered Product

This unit ensures learners understand the performance requirements of an engineered product and the selection of specific materials for use in the components that make up an engineered product.

Unit 9: Interpreting and Using Engineering Information (externally assessed)

Learners will understand how to interpret and use information from drawings and other documentation.

Unit 12: Engineering Design

This unit looks at the factors influencing the design of a new product and how to develop a product design specification (PDS) and prepare design proposals and design solutions that meet the requirements of a PDS.

Interested in teaching or studying this new qualification?

Bookmark these pages and check back here for the latest accreditation and availability news!