All old style apprenticeships use a framework or standards (called SASE frameworks) to ensure quality of delivery. New Apprenticeship Standards are set to replace the old SASE frameworks. 

Read more

New apprenticeship standards - the basics

New standards are being introduced and all apprenticeships will follow these standards by 2020. The new standards will:

  • Define an apprenticeship that lasts a minimum of 12 months.
  • Be linked to a specific occupational level.
  • Respond to employers’ needs, ensuring that apprenticeships are high quality and rigorous and develop the knowledge, skills and behaviour required for a specific job role.
  • Be designed to prepare the apprentice for the (newly introduced) end-point assessment.

The standards are created by the groups of employers or ‘Trailblazers’. 

A Trailblazer is made up of a group of employers who work together to design new apprenticeship standards for occupations within their sectors. Employers are now at the forefront of the development of Apprenticeships and learning; creating people with workplace skills that are relevant to business and industry.

They will be required to contain:

On-programme training and learning

  • There will be no mandatory requirement for qualifications (unless they are a requirement such as a Licence to Practice (LTP), or are written into the Standard by the Trailblazer group).
  • All apprentices will be required to develop their maths and English skills.
  • Apprenticeships will cover behaviours, as well as knowledge and skills.

Gateway to end-point assessment

  • Towards the end of the apprenticeship, employers and providers will ‘sign off’ the apprentice as being ready for end-point assessment.